more from
Ván Records


by Vanderbuyst

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      €7 EUR  or more




Vanderbuyst is a Dutch Hard Rock band formed in 2008 by guitarist Willem Verbuyst (ex-Powervice). As a power trio they advocate a mix of 70’s/80’s Hard Rock, Classic Rock and early NWoBHM. Inspired by bands like Rainbow, Van Halen, Thin Lizzy, UFO, Deep Purple and ZZtop, Vanderbuyst is not for the ones looking for the latest Nu-Metal and Gothic stuff. However, if you like your Hard Rock old school, Vanderbuyst is your band.

In the last two years this “Dutch Hard Rock Assault” has earned a very good live reputation. On stage, with riffs, solo’s, tight jeans, leather jackets and banging heads, Vanderbuyst has all you need to imagine yourself back in the 80’s again. The lead vocals and Guild-bass are Jochem Jonkman’s job, whose voice might remember one of Phil Lynott. Barry van Esbroek hits the drums including the inevitable Roto-toms and occasionally treats the audience to the not-done though nostalgic drum solo. While guitarist Willem Verbuyst is jumping around on stage like a madman, he keeps on riffing and soloing just the same. All in all, Vanderbuyst is a very energetic live band, even if they play two shows on one day, as they quite often do.

Vanderbuyst’s first feat of arms was the 3-track EP (“Vanderbuyst”, September 2008),
which was praised in The Netherlands, Belgium and Germany. Besides the classic way of songwriting the authentic sound is striking as well. This is no wonder since the debut was recorded at the well-known VOID-studio in Eindhoven (NL). Pieter G. Kloos mixed and co-produced in cooperation with producer Selim Lemouchi (Powervice, The Devil’s Blood).

In the Spring of 2010, Vanderbuyst went back to the same Void Studio to record their first full-length. Again they worked with Pieter G. Kloos, who is admired for his work with The Devil’s Blood and Motorpsycho. As no other he knows how to produce that Hard Rock mix that is not yet infected by over-distortion but rather sounds like real valve amps that are about to blow up. On this album the no frill approach, as on the EP, is continued. Sure, the general sound is much bigger and some of the vocal parts are more elaborated than on the EP, but the band still sounds like a loud power trio.

The self-titled Vanderbuyst album contains the following tracklist:

1 TO LAST FOREVER; After an almost classical intro, the band starts rocking to take you on their headbangers crusade.
2 TIGER; An uptempo NWoBHM track on which guest Selim Lemouchi nailed down a terrific Heavy Metal solo.
3 NEW ORLEANS; A party rocker with a gloomy feel towards the end.
4 TRACI LORDS; An uptempo panegyric on most interesting X-rated star.
5 STEALING YOUR THUNDER; An early 80’s banger with a catchy chorus.
6 ROCK BOTTOM (LIVE); UFO’s all time classic, this almost 12 minute version was recorded live at the Void Studio.
7 FROM PILLAR TO POST (LIVE); Also recorded live at the Void Studio. This is an uptempo track with mesmerizing soloing that just keeps on going.

The album will be released both on vinyl and cd in October 2010 by Ván Records. Though this enthusiastic German label is no new kid on the block, it is rising fast and hosts many international acts, including the much celebrated Devil’s Blood. Ván Records are exactly what this Vanderbuyst debut album needed. This collaboration is the jumping board Vanderbuyst has been hoping for.

Some say that Vanderbuyst is above all a live band. But with this record that opinion might change. Though Vanderbuyst is still a must see band this record can’t be ignored and will please the genuine Hard Rock and Heavy Metal maniac. For those into old school heavy rocking check out and and get yourself a copy of this great album. So next time Vanderbuyst is around you can raise your fist and yell along with these true rockers.


released October 7, 2010



all rights reserved


Vanderbuyst The Netherlands

contact / help

Contact Vanderbuyst

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code